Beating the Verbal – (760 Q50, V42, AWA 6.0, IR8)

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:3 members
I received my official score a week ago, and here're my experiences and learnings.

I am an Engineering grad, working in one of the top FMCG firms. I have completed CIMA and CFA (all 3 levels).

I am not a native English speaker and I am a numbers lover. The Quant questions were really challenging, but with sufficient practice, I could somewhat tackle them. The Verbal section was my Kryptonite. My strategy may not work for all, but may work for those who find Verbal tough.

Strategies

I had different strategies for each component:

Quant - Know the various types of questions and the common pitfalls.
The mistakes I made were always careless ones, and it never stopped, even though I only used to make generally 2-8 mistakes in a test. (Negatives, Zeros, forgetting the starting words of a question - e.g: Forgetting that X is a positive integer and answering assuming that X is an integer - including 0, and negatives)

Verbal -
CR - Practice as many types of questions as possible.
RC - I was really slow on RC, so I powered my way through many challenging passages - specially the Kaplan ones which always had an array of unfamiliar words.
SC - SC was not time consuming, but on my 1st attempt, they were demoralizing, as I didn't get some of them right and I knew I was wrong when I hit submit for every question. I overcame this by memorizing the idioms - which contributed to most of the errors.

There were 2 strategies that helped me a lot -

Strategy 1 - Taking as many tests as possible, as many times as possible. Yes you heard me right; taking the same test thrice actually helped me.