750 - good habits and sound strategies can do wonders

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I got done with the GMAT some days back. I must say that it was a very humbling experience - much more than what I anticipated. I scored a decent 750 (Q49, V44) The entire prep from the initial stumbles to the final success made me rediscover myself. I learned a few lessons which I want to pass on to you. Here is a description of my journey

Background

I am an accounting professional with one of the majors. I have a reasonably demanding profession (9 hours daily, not crazy like bankers) which does give me time to study.

Stage 1: The initial struggle

My goal when I started preparing was to score 720-730. My goal was to score (Q50, V38-40). My first mock score was 520 (Q47, V21). I had anticipated that I would need to work on Verbal but had never imagined that I would start with 25 percentile on Verbal. I immediately purchased the entire MGMAT set, Princeton review guide and the Kaplan books (I have a natural tendency to believe that more is merrier). The V21 was such a shock that I put in every available hour outside of work studying for the GMAT. I would wake up at 5 in the morning and study till 8, giving myself a mere 20 minutes to have a shower and eat breakfast (mostly at McDonalds). While this did help improve my Verbal score to V28-V31, I was exhausted within 1 month. I gained 7 pounds during this time, which added fuel to fire. What bothered me most was that I was not able to improve. I had finished 5 out of 6 mocks and my verbal score fluctuated between 28 and 31. My Sentence Correction was killing me. It was at that time, a friend advised me to take a backseat and take a break. I can tell you that this was the single best advice I received during my prep.