520 to 710!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:2 members

520 to 710!

by westcoaster87 » Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:41 pm
Hi all,

After 9 months, the journey is finally over! I took the test last week and scored a 710, Q49 V38. Here is my story:

I did not take a single math class in my undergraduate studies. I was a communications and history major. Having said that, I was always a fairly decent math student, so I thought that excelling on the GMAT would be more a matter of effort -- "studying harder" -- than anything. This, as it turned out, turned out to be a bit misguided, which I will get into. Verbal came fairly easy to me, however still needed much work on SC and CR.

I started studying for the GMAT in September of 2012 by purchasing the Manhattan GMAT self-study program. I took the initial diagnostic, scoring a 520 with a 20th percentile in math.... I knew I was in for a climb. After going through each Manhattan GMAT study guide twice and taking 3 diagnostics, I topped out at a 640. Scoring was as follows: 520, 640, 620. Scoring a 620 on that third practice test really was a wake up call, as it made me realize that my "study harder" mentality clearly was not getting me close to the 700-range (my goal). I needed something new, and that's when I finally bit the bullet and ponied up for a personal tutor.

To all you people out there like me on a budget -- remember this entire process of getting your MBA is an investment. You are going to end up spending tens if not hundreds of thousands of dollars on a program, so don't get cheap when it comes to qualifying yourself for a program you are actually excited about. This is not the time in your life to get cheap.