by Nadia222 » Sun Dec 29, 2013 2:49 pm
I am currently a Manhattan GMAT student, and
For Critical Reasoning we are taught by the strategy guides
to take brief notes. While approaching the Official
Guide questions timed, I find it hard to take notes and then to
answer the question. I become frustrated trying to figure out how to abbreviate
without writing everything out. I know there has to be a simpler
method to approaching these questions. Writing notes is great,
but I feel like I am losing valuable time by doing so.

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:512 members
GMAT Score:770

by David@VeritasPrep » Sun Dec 29, 2013 5:08 pm
Try this technique:

In your practice you can take some brief notes. But by test day you want to get it down to the point where you just write down what you need the answer to say or do.

When you practice Strengthen, assumption, and "most useful to know in order to evaluate" questions write out the conclusion and the "most important premise" (for a definition of what this is please read https://www.beatthegmat.com/mba/2011/02/ ... duncan-way)

With these questions what you are eventually trying to do is to create what I call a "mantra." A mantra is a few words describing what the answer choice must do. From the example in the article above the mantra is "more flexibility = less sleep deprivation." I call it a mantra because you repeat it over and over as you go through the answer choices.

In your practice sessions you can write all three of these things down -- Conclusion, MIP, and mantra -- eventually you want to get to the point where you only write the mantra. This is where you want to be for test day. Writing fewer than 12 words will not take long and this is the result of your thought process, so it is good to have this down.