What are my chances for going to a top B-School?

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hello,

I am new to this forum, but for the past few days I have been looking on this website for admissions help and thoughts on perspective applications to top MBA programs.

My Background

I went to school in Georgia at a top school for CIS, Georgia State University, even though I didn't major in it. I graduated as a Marketing major. However, I was a double major in CIS at one point in time. At the time of graduation, I had a 2.78 GPA.... sucks I know....smh. Throughout college I was in the military and was scheduled to deploy almost every year along with battling homelessness,health scares with my bronchitis, and also not having a civilian job. After graduating, I commissioned into the GA National Guard as a Infantry Officer in a Special Reconnaissance Ranger unit. I will be trying out for Special Forces when I make Captain rank.

Because of my issues, my GPA suffered and many courses I had to withdraw from. Only 2 classes have D's which I retook and got B's in. For the most part, I was a A+ through C- student. I also joined a Phi Beta Sigma, participated in NAACP, active in my Student Alumni Association at Georgia State University, a member of Military Officers of America, and I volunteer monthly.

My aspirations in life is to become a start up CEO, but I want to have the MBA competitive edge. I was scheduled to due a MS in Software Engineering in January, but I am not sure if that is going to make me a strong applicant for top tier MBA (a list of my perspective schools are below).

I hear that going back to school to take a few classes in Finance,Accounting, and Calculus or a certification in CFA or Six Sigma would help. Also, I hear that optional essay to account for my grades in undergraduate would be wise.

My Questions

1)Given my background, how can I secure a acceptance from a top tier b-school?