Am I studying right?

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Am I studying right?

by dagoldbe » Mon Dec 16, 2013 11:12 am
Hi,

I have been studying for the GMAT now for a couple months using a Kaplan course. On my diagnostic test I scored a 680 and was pretty happy (shooting for 700's ultimately). As I got more into the tests my scores began to decrease. My next CAT scores were 630, 600, 600, 600, and then 610. Every time I try to tackle a new topic I seem to make mistakes on a different topic. My verbal which was the 92nd percentile on the first diagnostic has fallen to 48th percentile. I tend to get 4 wrong in a row sometimes and I think that is something that is hurting me. I don't know if my studying is right or if this is normal - I tend to choose a subject or two a night and pound the practice problems going through what I missed on the wrong ones and where my thought process veered off and then move to a new subject each day, with Thursday and Friday off. Any help is appreciated, thanks!
My test date: Jan 23rd

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:512 members
GMAT Score:770

by David@VeritasPrep » Tue Dec 17, 2013 5:42 am
As I got more into the tests my scores began to decrease. My next CAT scores were 630, 600, 600, 600, and then 610. Every time I try to tackle a new topic I seem to make mistakes on a different topic. My verbal which was the 92nd percentile on the first diagnostic has fallen to 48th percentile.
I am wondering why you tried new techniques if you scored the 92nd percentile. I understand that the 92nd is not yet the 99th but with some practice you may have gotten there.

There are two possibilities for your situation: