Selecting a B-school

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:1 members

Selecting a B-school

by shalini0817 » Sat Dec 14, 2013 6:20 am
Hello,

I wrote GMAT for the first time yesterday and scored 720. (Quant-50, Verbal-38 and IR-6).
I graduated as an engineer in 2007, not from a very reputed college in India.
I have about 6 years of work experience in software development and maintenance. I am also associated with an NGO. Overall, I have an average profile representative of any IT employee.

I want to apply to schools that offer 1 year MBA programs, specifically Leeds, Lancaster, Warwick and Copenhagen.

Please let me know how good (or bad ) are my chances. :roll:

by suk123 » Sat Dec 14, 2013 7:17 am
Your chances are very good at the schools you have just mentioned. if you are interested in non-US school I'll suggest you also look into LBS and Nanyang.
Now work diligently on your application specially your essay. Write a few essays and get them evaluated (first by your friends for English, later by professionals).

Followed by:1 members

by shalini0817 » Mon Dec 23, 2013 2:56 am
Currently, I have taken a break from my work as a software engineer and am working as a volunteer for a non-profit. I am also working as a quant trainer for a start-up institute that gives coaching for various MBA entrance exams in India.

Will this break, in any way, hurt my chances of getting an admit from a college, or my chances of getting an offer after completing an MBA?
Please advise.

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:10 members

by Sophia007 » Mon Dec 23, 2013 12:41 pm
As long as you can explain in the "optional" section. It should work.

LBS or the schools that you have listed require very specific profile when it comes to work experience. So, unless I've looked at your resume, it would be difficult to say.

-S
Sophia Pathak| Admissions Consultant |