480 to 720. Finally done with that horrible test!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:3 members
GMAT Score:720
Hello ladies and gents,

When I started off, I was bad at BOTH the math and verbal sections of the GMAT. My GMAT journey has been a rocky road, but I'm finally done.

Background
I was an english major in college, and I planned to go to law school after. I studied hard for the LSAT. On the LSAT I went from a 140 on my practice exams to a 170 average on my practice exams. On the real test, however, I messed up. I could not sleep the night before the LSAT, and in order to compensate I drank two or three red bulls right before the test. During the test I froze up and I ended up with a 162 - still a good score but not what I was hoping for. This is an experience that stuck with me.

A year ago I took a GMAT practice test and scored a dismal 480. Not only was my math score abhorrent, but my verbal score was incredibly low as well. Even though I majored in English in College, the verbal section seemed foreign to me. In the sentence correction sections, for example, all of the choices would seem correct. It was very disheartening, but I decided not to let a stupid, useless, glorified math test get the best of me.

For most of the year I tried to avoid the GMAT, but I gave myself a deadline of November. I wanted to be done with the GMAT by the end of november, no matter what score I got. My sister bought a math refresher book for her SAT test, and I would look at that book every now and then. Most of the time, however, I would get slightly discouraged, and make up some excuse to not come back to studying.

6 Months to G-Day