major gmat disapointment, scored 420 :(

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

major gmat disapointment, scored 420 :(

by lila921 » Sun Nov 10, 2013 8:48 pm
I don't even know where to start, probably a little background. Im a senior accounting analyst, pretty good with numbers, but english is not my primary language so the verbal section is not my strength at all. I've been preparing for the gmat since august. I took a prep test to see my overall level and scored a 420 (V 26 Q21) ouch! i used the MGMAT books for my preparation, read the books and did the practice questions of the OG13 and the verbal and quant review. Ive put in a lot of time and effort in this.
gmat prep 1 420 Q26 V21 august
CAT 1 580 Q37 V32 mid sptember
CAT 2 600 Q40 V32
CAT 3 620 Q42 V33

i knew i was not ready because i was aiming for the 700+ score,but i didn't want to push back my exam so i went to get a taste of the real test, I was expecting to score around the lower 600 for my firt attempt, i was stunned when i saw 420 on the screen!!! i just wasted 3 months styding night and day to have the same result as my prep test.

you can imagine my walk home after the exam, really questioned myself and it really touched my ego!

i probably did someting wrong, i was not stressed at all during the exam. I covered all the basics in quant and verbal but i am pretty sure i fell in all the traps during the exams.

i'm not giving up my dream of attending a top business school, and i'm just trying to figure out how i can recover from this major gmat fail.

i looked at the possibility of taking prep courses, i looked at veritas prep, they have pretty good reviews.I don't want to turn in circles, i am willing to give the exam an other shot but i want a course that is going to help me take the exam the right way.

any recommandations? is this kind of situation common for gmat test takers or is it just me? do i have a shot at a 700+ score?

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member