Time to quit?

This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
GMAT Score:650

Time to quit?

by cd86 » Sun Oct 13, 2013 10:29 pm
I have been studying for GMAT for 2 years now. I have given the exam twice with scores gmat1 :540 gmat2:590 , after my 590 score in December 2012 )for which i had worked really hard for about an year) i decided to put in whatever it takes to score a 700+ , since then I have improved a lot with disciplined work.

My imporvements have been very slow though , unlike many people who say their score jumped from 610 to 670 after they did xyz for 2 weeks..that sort of thing did not happen to me. I know am very good at SC and CR , RC is still a problem.

I scored a 650 q48 v32 on GMATprep exactly one month ago , then 680 on mgmat , and yesterday i gave another gmatprep and got a 650 q48 v31 , even after one month of working on my weak ares.

I feel that more than the concepts now, i am failing in giving the exam the right way on a whole. How to learn to deal with the exam in itself? Even slight changes in my mood seem to affect my performnace , being in an ethusiatic mood itslef gives me a better score.Giving mocks every weekend, i feel so depressed and that i would rather be doing something fun than do this, I feel this so much more now because i have spent countless weekends over the past 2 years giving this exam. I feel like quitting and that this exam is something that i cannot get done with.

any help?

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Sun Oct 13, 2013 10:58 pm
Hi cd86,

If what you've described is true (that you're scoring in the mid-600s to high-600s in your practice CATs), then why haven't you scheduled another Official GMAT? Any of those scores would be preferable to your 590 AND would be high enough to allow you to apply to any US Business School.