Problem with RC

This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

Problem with RC

by dominhtri1995 » Sun Nov 03, 2013 6:12 am
Hi,
I have been preparing for GMAT for 2 months.

When I do the reading in OG13 and Verbal 2nd review, I almost always get 1 or 2 wrong or all correct per passage. However, in the Manhattan GMAT CATs, I barely get 2 correct in one passage, sometimes even get all of it wrong.

I really don't know the reason why. I have a plan to take the GMAT at the end of December, hope some advice could help me with this.

Thanks.

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:512 members
GMAT Score:770

by David@VeritasPrep » Sun Nov 03, 2013 6:35 am
I have two items for you and then a very important question:

1) A reassurance - The Reading Comp is a really difficult question type to create. Unofficial reading comp passages are usually not edited and tested as carefully as the Official Questions. Think about it, but the time a question makes it to the Verbal Review or Official Guide it has been attempted by thousands of people (mostly on the actual GMAT) and edited dozens of times. A single word change can make a question much more difficult, or even make a question unfair. On of the benefits of the new Veritas Question Bank and practice tests is that students are able to leave comments and suggestions on particular questions and have helped us to edit many of questions and passages so that they get better and better over time, just like the Official Questions.

So my reassurance is that the Official questions are a better gauge of your ability.