How Your Essays Drive the MBA Admissions Committee Crazy

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:9 members
Often, when MBA admissions professionals get together, they talk about some of the crazy things they see in MBA applications. They don't mention any names, and they maintain a professional level of confidentiality. But, at the end of those conversations, someone inevitably says, "I wish I could just tell applicants to stop doing THAT!"

So, now that I'm no longer a Director of MBA Admissions, and I'm an MBA Admissions Consultant - working for the applicants, I find myself in the unique position of being able to communicate these MBA Admissions Committee "Pet Peeves" to MBA applicants. Consider this a good will gesture to all parties!

1. Not Answering The Question

This seems so simple, but is so often missed as a result of MBA applicants overthinking the MBA admissions process. You'll see applicants saying things like, "Well, I know they are asking me to supposedly introduce myself to the class, but what do they REALLY want to know? Why are they REALLY asking this question? I think I need to include this annecdote in here because it's really important for me that the committee knows this about me."

No, just no. Answer the question as it is asked. Answer the question in the context that is provided to you.

One client I recently worked with wrote a beautiful essay about some things in his childhood that shaped the way he is today. It was touching and compelling. However, I had to convince him to set that aside. I vividly recall saying to him, "The question is "Introduce yourself to your future classmates at MBA Orientation. You are not going to dig into this emotional story when you are first introducing yourself to a large group of future colleagues!"

Please, the MBA Admissions Committees are begging you ... just answer the question.