Please help evaluate my profile !!!

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi,

I am a software engineer with around 6 years of exp in IBM mainframes (Client - Morgan Stanley). Have done my under-grad in production engineering with a CGPA of 7.34 on a scale of 10, XII - 73.4%, X - 76.8%. I appeared for GMAT in March 2011 and my scores were not that good. I secured 590 (Q-47, V-24, AWA 5). A year after that I moved to the US on an on-site assignment. I will be done with my assignment by Sep 2014 and am planning to join a MBA program by March 2015. Hence, till the time i join, i would have had around 8 years of experience. My sole purpose of an MBA is a career shift. I am basically trying to get out of IT and enter into the manufacturing/production industry and hence looking for a program with Operations Management/Supply Chain Management as the majors. Location of the school is not a constraint for me but I would prefer European B-Schools particularly those in Germany or B-Schools in South East Asia. Could you please let me know what are my chances of getting through a good MBA program and also suggest some B-Schools to which I can apply.

Thanks a lot in advance !!!!

Thanks, Soumya

GMAT/MBA Expert

Legendary Member
Followed by:52 members

by CriticalSquareMBA » Mon Aug 12, 2013 8:07 am
Hey there,

My answer is going to be relatively short and straight forward. If you're looking to join in 2015, that means you apply in 2014, which means you have a year before then.

Retake your GMAT.

Don't worry about schools yet. Worry about that a year from not. For the moment, you need to fix your 590. You have a year to do so and I have complete faith in you!

Bhavik
Critical Square | MBA Admissions Services

Web | Facebook | Twitter

We love helping! Was this post helpful to you? Thank us and let me know!

Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

by greatest » Mon Aug 19, 2013 6:19 pm