Work Experience and Average age of the class

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Work Experience and Average age of the class

by sivagmat » Wed Jul 24, 2013 10:14 am
Hi ,
I have a confusion. Please clear this . I have two years of work experience and am still working in an IT industry. I just browsed through the websites of universities that I have shortlisted to apply for Fall 2014 intake. But in the list of current students or class of 2013 students or earlier, I hardly see anyone in my age group or with 2 or 3 years of experience.

My understanding now is, though 2 years experience is an admission criteria, most of the students joining are having a min of 4 years work experience. Am I correct? What is the exact scenario ? So, though I have a good profile, will my admission chances be dull due to this ? Please advice .

Thanks in advance,
Siva

Legendary Member
Followed by:79 members
GMAT Score:640

by money9111 » Wed Jul 24, 2013 3:14 pm
The average is JUST THAT... an Average. So obviously there are people will more work experience and also less work experience. I had some classmates who were straight out of undergrad. Surely they were few and far between but they did exist. Remember that even someone with the avg. gmat score, avg. gpa, avg # yrs of work experience etc etc still are no admitted to schools. If you know that NOW is the right time to get your MBA and you can convey that in your essays and interviews then don't worry about it. Let me caveat that last sentence by saying that yes, you are in an incredibly competitive group - or so I assume (correct me if I'm wrong).
My goal is to make MBA applicants take onus over their process.

My story from Pre-MBA to Cornell MBA - New Post in Pre-MBA blog

Me featured on Poets & Quants

Free Book for MBA Applicants

Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

by sivagmat » Thu Jul 25, 2013 6:16 am