700: Strategy, Work and God

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:700

700: Strategy, Work and God

by alastairmckee » Sun Jul 07, 2013 9:28 am
I took the GMAT for the first time last week and scored 700 (Q45 V40). I've been studying for about 5 months, and I probably put in something like 250 hours. I have always been pretty good at math, however, it has been years since I took a class, and I felt like I was learning many of the concepts for the first time. Here are my practice test results:

23 Feb: GMAT 1 640
3 Mar: Princeton 610
3 May: GMAT 1 Retake 710
8 May: MGMAT 1 660
17 May: Hult Practice Test 680
22 May: MGMAT 2 620
29 May: MGMAT 3 670
3 June: GMAT 1 Retake 710
14 June: MGMAT 4 660
21 June: Babson Practice Test 750
25 June: GMAT 2 710
26 June: MGMAT 5 680
28 June: Economist 710

3 July: Real GMAT 700

As you can see, I did a lot of practice tests, which was great preparation. Here are the most important lessons I learned:

LEARN THE TEST It is so important to understand how the GMAT works. For example, if it seems like every question is incredibly difficult, don't get upset, it probably just means that you are doing really well! Make sure you learn about time management, it is important to balance getting questions correct with not wasting time. If you are like me, you won't be able to do both all the time, so know when it is best to move on. Understand what it is like to get tired and lose focus, and build up your stamina over time. Other things like learning how to eliminate answers and other test strategies are crucial also. Like I said, learn the test!