Choosing the Right University -- USA

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Choosing the Right University -- USA

by sivagmat » Thu Jun 27, 2013 5:58 pm
Hi ,

Please help me to make the right decision. I have two years of work experience and an above average Academic record.
I am yet to write my GMAT. The test date is on Aug 17th. My plan is to apply in the first round of applications to the universities which I have short listed. I have right now short listed top 5 Public Universities in the US.
My question is
1)If I get a good GMAT score of above 700 and if I apply in the first round of applications will I be able to make it to any of these universities ?
2)If I get a considerably low score between 620 - 650 , what will be the case ?

Please advice me whether I am going on a right track because I am very much worried about the probability of getting into a B School in the US and I am pretty much confident that I will get a high GMAT score.

Legendary Member
Followed by:85 members

by essaysnark » Thu Jul 04, 2013 6:24 am
Hi sivagmat - hate to say it but it's impossible to answer that question, nobody but the adcom can tell you if you're gonna get in (obviously, right?) but even when we give feedback on profiles on these forums, we need a lot more information in order to even start to guess as to outcomes.

To try to still be useful: :-)

1. For an Indian applicant, a 700 isn't actually a "high" GMAT score. You should be aiming for 720 or higher; that's the average GMAT for Indians accepted to good schools. A high score doesn't guarantee you anything but a lower score can keep you out. To be clear, a 700 isn't "low" but it's not distinctive among your class of candidate. Aim high and you'll have much better chances.