Expert Help Required - Gmat Retake?

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Followed by:1 members

Expert Help Required - Gmat Retake?

by twinkle1234 » Wed Jun 26, 2013 6:39 pm
Hi,

I took my GMAT exam yesterday and got a 660 (Q49, V31).

My background is - Indian Female (24), Work ex - 2 yrs. School Academics - Really Good. Undergraduate - Engineering with a good GPA (from one of India's top 20 colleges)and some decent extra curricular activities.
I really want to apply this year and wish to be enrolled in a program starting 2014 Fall (US B schools).

Since my work ex is pretty low, I am planning to retake the GMAT. But I have the following questions:
1) I would need another 2 months for preparing and improving my score, will that leave me enough tie to work on my applications this year?

2) Hoping I get a decent score the second time, will it be a disadvantage to have gotten the score on a second attempt?

3) Since I have exhausted a lot of material already (I used 60-Day GMAT Guide for this attempt and already gave each GMAT prep 4 times) I am not sure how would I be able to measure my improvement.

I also need some advise on how can I improve my score. My verbal is really bad. My problem is that almost all the wrong answers I mark appear right to me. This is mostly the case with CR and RC. I am not sure why am I not able to improve on my Verbal Score.

Please Help!!

Legendary Member
Followed by:85 members

by essaysnark » Thu Jul 04, 2013 7:23 am
Hi swatigulati - you posted this a week ago but let's see if we can still provide some answers to your questions - we're not experts on the GMAT so probably can help across the board but we do have some input for you.

First off - the 660 isn't a bad score, it's just too low for the best MBA schools, so two things: 1) congrats on doing so well on the quant!! and b) it's good to see that you're planning to retest.