GRAD SCHOOL AND REFERENCE DILEMMA

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

GRAD SCHOOL AND REFERENCE DILEMMA

by scottd123 » Mon Jun 24, 2013 11:19 am
I am new to this whole forum thing, but I would love to lay out a bit of my situation and see what you fine folks have to say. Currently, I am working full time as an account representative at an environmental service firm(a good job,) but have recently discovered (through a variety of situations/books/experiences) that my passion lies in a combination of finance, small business and non-profit consulting, and private equity management. Now, I am in the midst of studying for the GMAT and I see a big benefit to the knowledge I could obtain and connections I could make from going to a respected B-school (For me this would mean getting into Ross (as I live in Michigan) or possibly the online program from UNC...or any other suggested programs?) From what I have been reading, everyone seems to say that the full time programs produce more benefit for the student than those of a part-time MBA. Do most people agree with that sentiment? Secondly, is working full time in my current job a possiblity while doing a weekend/online MBA? And lastly, what do folks recommend about getting letters of recommendation when you are essentially saying to your employer, "I want you to endorse me to go to business school so I can pursue my passion in a different area."

If you have any insight on these inquiries I would love to get your feedback! Thanks!

GMAT/MBA Expert

Legendary Member
Followed by:52 members

by CriticalSquareMBA » Mon Jun 24, 2013 8:19 pm
[This is a cross post - noticed you posted in different places so didn't know which one you preferred!)

Hi Scott!