Weak GMAT Score? What TO Say, and What NOT To Say to AdCom!

This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:9 members
During my 15 years as a Director of MBA Admissions, I interviewed thousands of MBA candidates, and met with countless prospective students. Often, I wished I could give advice to candidates who made a misstep in the process, but it simply was not appropriate for me to do so from my position as a decision maker.

Now that I'm an MBA Admissions Consultant, I want to share some of the things I wish MBA applicants knew before they came in for their student visits or interviews. For this particular post, I'm focusing on a weak GMAT score. However, I'll continue this theme as an occasionally series focusing on other issues as well. (Subscribe to MBA Expert Insights here so you don't miss it!)

Don't Say That!

* Though often humorous, these are real comments that candidates made to me when I was the Director of MBA Admissions.

1. "Yes, my GMAT score is low. You see, I've never been good at taking standardized tests."

Hands down the most common response to discussions of a low GMAT score. File this one along with "Oh, what's my greatest weakness? I'm a perfectionist." While it is true that some individuals do not perform well on standardized tests, MBA applicants might have me believing it is an epidemic.

2. "My GMAT score? Oh, yeah that. Well, yeah, I know it is really low. I didn't really prepare for the test. My friend had his bachelor party the night before I had the test scheduled and I was just not in good shape when I went to take the test, if you know what I mean. (wink, wink)"