What matters the most is the state of your mind on the D-Day

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Some background about me - I am a Chemical Engineer & working in the US for about 17 years. Given the current stage of my career, I felt that a part-time program is the best choice for me.

I took the GMAT on March 23rd & scored 660 (Q48; V32). To be honest, I was a tad disappointed as I was targeting a 700+. More so, I was disappointed with my performance in Verbal - primarily, because I am pretty strong in CR & reasonable in SC / RC. Also, I had scored V34 and V37 in my practice tests. My sincere thanks to BB, Bunuel, Stacey, Mitch Hunt, Beat the GMAT Club, expert contributors....you folks are just awesome.

Given the pretty darn long break from academics, I had to brush up my rather rusty Quant and verbal skills. Add to it the fact that I was very poor in Geometry & Counting / Probability. Rather than dive into GMAT preparation, I decided to spend some time learning about these topics. I used the books by Art of Problem Solving and watched some videos on Khan Academy.

Early on as I was browsing Amazon for reasonable GMAT preparation guides, I came across a few books & read the reviews. One reviewer's name kept popping up -BB's - my hats off to BB. Based on BB's reviews, I zeroed on Manhattan GMAT & Veritas. I decided to go with Manhattan (no strong reason to have dropped out Veritas). That was the beginning of my long journey. At this stage, I read about the Beat the GMAT Club. Promptly, I signed up for the GMAT Question of the Day and Beat the GMAT 60 day study guide.

Resources:
Quant - Manhattan GMAT.
Advanced Quant by Manhattan - this is an absolute gem. I used a lot of their strategies on the actual GMAT.
Critical Reasoning - Power Score Bible
SC, RC - Manhattan & Aristotle