Can't seem to see an improvement on GMAT - Help Please

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I have been studying the GMAT for over a year and I took the real exam once and I got 540 (44 on math and 28 on verbal I think). This is not good enough. Right now I am studying for GMAT, but I can't focus on GMAT. I've found myself that I can't study well enough if I am not serious and push myself hard. Should I cut everything out in my life? I mean friends, family, and everything so that I will be more focused on GMAT. I'm very frustrated with myself and don't know what to do. Could you please give me suggestions or help me to be in the right track?

I know most experts said we shouldn't be studying for more than 6 hours per day. Is this method really working? I tried to study 6 hours then go out with my friends later in the day. Then the next day, I find it is even harder to study because I keep thinking about all the fun I have with my friends and how unlucky I am that I have to study GMAT.

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:266 members
GMAT Score:770

by Jim@StratusPrep » Tue May 14, 2013 9:40 am
Keep your study time down or burnout will set in. You will be unhappy if you cut everything out of your life. I would suggest working with a professional to develop a plan with you and help you stay on task...
GMAT Answers provides a world class adaptive learning platform.
-- Push button course navigation to simplify planning
-- Daily assignments to fit your exam timeline
-- Organized review that is tailored based on your abiility
-- 1,000s of unique GMAT questions
-- 100s of handwritten 'digital flip books' for OG questions
-- 100% Free Trial and less than $20 per month after.
-- Free GMAT Quantitative Review

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

by angie99 » Tue May 14, 2013 6:06 pm
Do you have anyone that you would like to suggest?

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:266 members
GMAT Score:770

by Jim@StratusPrep » Wed May 15, 2013 8:01 am