Don't see improvement in score. Please advise.

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:1 members
Hi All,

I had joined this forum around 2 months back when I started preparing for GMAT.
Posts by various experts are helpful and GMAT debriefs by successful members are really inspiring.

I am a working IT professional and don't get more than 2 hours during weekdays. In weekends, I can spend around 5-6 hours/day for Prep. I had started my prep around 2 months back. In 1st month, I refreshed all my Quant concepts, and got familiarized with Verbal question types. Did good amount of practice on both. (Not from OG though)

I gave my first practice CAT from GMAT Prep on 31-March, hoping I don't do too bad. I got score of 630 (Q44, V32).
I was running short of time in Quant and had to just guess in last 4-5 questions to ensure I don't leave questions unanswered.
Upon review I ralized that my concepts in Quant are clear, but I am not able to recollect certain formula for Geomety. Also, for many difficult questions, I didn't have a clue how to apply certain strategy to solve it fast and in turn spent lot of time.
For Verbal, I managed the time well (had to guess only on last question). Most of my mistakes were in SC. For some of trickier CR questions, I had eliminated 3 wrong choices, but out of remaining 2, the 1 I selected was incorrect, so I thought more practice is needed in CR. RC was ok for me as the passages were not that difficult and I got most of the answers correct, except couple of inference questions.

I worked on my Math, memorizing formulae, learned tricks to solve certain type of questions and practiced from OG this time.
For Verbal as well, I solved most of the OG questions, focusing more on SC.
After a months time, I yesterday gave Manhattan CAT 1. I was hoping that this time I would get closer to 700 mark, so that I can register for GMAT test for end of May.
But I was shocked to see 550 (Q35, V31).