Am I just being idealistic?

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Am I just being idealistic?

by blueirony » Sun Apr 14, 2013 6:31 pm
I'm 22. I graduated from The University of Melbourne just under a year ago. I have dreams of applying to a top MBA school within the next ten years (preferably London Business School after doing a lot of research) but I'm wondering if it's just a pipe dream.

I did a Bachelor of Commerce (majors: Accounting & Finance) and have a GPA of 5.15 on a 7 point scale. I say "about" because I just calculated it myself and have no clue if what I have done is correct - my University results are all in percentages for each subject and we are not given a GPA or WAM. I think I can take that to be about 2.95 on a 4 point scale (using ratios) but, again, I have no idea.

So my grades weren't the best. I worked through Uni, was part of way too many extra-curricular activities and had a lot of issues at home which I know aren't really excuses, but there you go.

I currently work in internal audit at a mid-tier accounting firm in Australia. It does have a global brand but, let's face it, it does not have the Big 4 brand. I am currently studying the Chartered Accountants program and I hope to be qualified at the end of 2015.

I have REALLY picked my socks up after Uni. I am doing really well in the CA program and I know that if I try and work at it, I can do really well on the GMAT. And I'm not just saying that. I really believe I can do it.