Work experience - Journalism.

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Work experience - Journalism.

by bhatius » Sun Apr 07, 2013 4:10 am
Hi,

I'm just about beginning my preparation for the GMAT and want to know which schools I should aim for. I graduated with a degree in management but my love for cars drew me to a writing job at an automotive magazine. I've done fairly well for myself in the 4.5 years I've worked but now want to make a move to the industry.

Given my non-traditional work experience, which are the schools I should look at? From what I understand, INSEAD values diversity in the batch and foreign exposure (my job entailed a lot of foreign assignments). Is that correct?
Please help me out with some of the other top 20 schools as well where my experience could be an asset.

Thanks,

Nikhil

Legendary Member
Followed by:85 members

by essaysnark » Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:16 am
Hi Nikhil - congrats on the decision to go for the MBA! You're right that INSEAD likes to see diversity in its applicants, but so does **every** other school. The challenge with a nontraditional applicant is in showing how they're ready for the MBA and the future career path that they lay out in their essays - in fact, for a school like INSEAD especially, the career goals are very important. That should be your primary criteria in figuring out which schools to target: what do you want to do with the MBA and why do you need one? That can help you identify the schools that are strongest in that area. There's lots of other angles to consider too, but that can be a big one - it's part of the "school fit" that you may hear people talk about.

The other angle of course is your credentials. You'll need to do well on the GMAT obviously, and your grades from college will matter a lot.