Emory vs. Vanderbilt

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Emory vs. Vanderbilt

by JJShannon3 » Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:18 am
I'm torn on this decision. I got in to both and a partial scholarship at both, but on paper they seem so similar that it's a tough decision. Rankings-wise, Vanderbilt shot up this year, but Emory has traditionally been a consistent top 25 school.

I'm a mechanical engineer leaving a large power utility to return to school. My career goals after school revolve around energy/tech. I'd love to get into energy trading or even consulting with a focus on tech/energy. I want to make the move toward the oil/gas boom in Texas or possibly West Coast although that's a stretch. There are also a lot of attractive, smaller firms in both Atlanta and Nashville. Any words of wisdom from current students or people that also applied to either of these? I'm a Georgia Tech grad, so I've done the Atlanta thing once before. Is it important to diversify my location/network and choose Vanderbilt instead?

Legendary Member
Followed by:85 members

by essaysnark » Tue Mar 12, 2013 6:49 am
Hey JJShannon3 - First of all: CONGRATULATIONS! These are both really good schools, and getting some $$ means that you impressed them with your pitch. Great job.

And now for the quandry, right? What to do from here?

Our best advice is what you've hopefully already done: Visit the schools and talk to people. Choosing a bschool is, in the end, a very personal decision, and it often comes down to culture and community. People in your position will frequently report back to us that one school just "felt" right. It's an intangible but very real factor that you should honor in your decision-making process.