from 480 to 730 - Q47 V44 - 96th percentile in 8 weeks.

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:1 members
what's up everyone. frequent lurker, first time poster.

i started studying for the GMAT roughly 6 weeks ago with the Princeton Review free diagnostic. i graduated undergrad in december of 2007 and have not really worked with numbers in a meaningful way since. i majored in history and didn't take a math course my senior year in HS so i was going in about a decade removed from having done math in any sort of an academic way. i am not applying anywhere outrageous so my target score was about a 660.

i scored a 480 on that diagnositc and almost quit right there, but i decided to keep going. i started spending about 2 hours a night after work doing only quant review. i used GMAThacks "total GMAT math" book and went through chapter by chapter. i also used Kaplan GMAT Premier 2013 and went through every quant chapter. for the last two weeks i split time between going through the challenge problems in "total GMAT math" and Manhattan GMAT word problems.

i was, luckily, in a position where i didn't need to study too much for the verbal section.

i took a practice CAT every weekend along the way with one or two exceptions due to travel.

KAPLAN CAT 1 - 600 (i forget the split but V was 37)
GMAT PREP 1 - 640 (Q42 V37)
Manhattan GMAT Free CAT - 640 (Q42 V37)
Manhattan GMAT CAT 1 - 620 (Q37 V38)
Manhattan GMAT CAT 2 - 640 (Q37 V40)