Strategy for reviewing GMAT OG problems

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Strategy for reviewing GMAT OG problems

by jbk » Sun Feb 03, 2013 3:12 am
Hi All,

I have been a member of this forum from past few months and finally I have gathered enough courage to make my first post. This forum has extremely smart people with a lot of knowledge. Sometimes that makes me apprehensive of posting. But I am very thankful to all the contributors for sharing their knowledge and helping all of us grow together.

I have been preparing for GMAT for last 4 months (on&off). My daily schedule is very fickle due to a significantly demanding job and therefore I cannot devote time everyday. But now as I get more serious about my preparation, I have started to force myself to devote more time and study regularly.

In this regard, I am wondering what is the best way of redoing the GMAT OG problems? After solving the problems for the first time and then reveiwing the ones that i got incorrect, is it good to immediately go back and start re-solving them, or is it better to leave them for a few days and then return back to solve them again?

Thanks for your kind support.

JBK,

GMAT/MBA Expert

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:1268 members
GMAT Score:770

by Brent@GMATPrepNow » Sun Feb 03, 2013 8:16 am
Hey jbk,

The first thing I'd suggest is that you review the solutions to all questions, even those you answered correctly. The reason I say this is that the solutions may reveal a new (and sometimes faster) way to approach similar questions in the future. This is especially true for math questions. The great thing about almost all GMAT math questions is that they can be solved in more than one way. In many cases, there's a fast way and a slow way. So, if you answer a math question correctly and don't check the solution, you may miss out on a super fast technique that you can use in the future.