Got 580(47Q, 27V) in GMAT - My new strategy to reappear

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I started preparing for the test three months ago. I started studying from OG13 and Manhattan Set of guides (5th edition). I gave GMATPrep 3 times. My respective scores were 550, 630 and 660. My work used to take a lot of my time during the weekdays, so the only time I had for my GMAT preparation was on the weekends. I concentrated more on verbal since I thought Quant was relatively easier for me. But I still couldn't finish much of the material that I had. And then, I had a surgery a few days before the test and so I thoroughly messed up my test. Maybe I hurried into giving the test without much preparation.

Getting this score was too embarrassing for me as I had expected to score around 650. I was disappointed but I didn't lose hope. I have thought of a new strategy to study.

I have started studying Quant. And I study at least for an hour a day during the weekdays. I have bought Manhattan's Advanced Quant guide and Kaplan 800. Manhattan RC and CR guide didn't help me a lot previously. Powerscore CR bible helped me to understand the way I should approach a problem. So, I am planning to cover the chapters which I couldn't finish. Manhattan SC guide proved to be good as it increased my accuracy from 60% to 80%. So, I think it would be a good idea to go through it again. I have heard a lot about Aristotle SC Grail, the third edition. But I am not sure if I should get it. I am considering buying a Verbal Course from e-GMAT.

Please suggest if any changes must be done to this strategy. How many times should one give mock exams ideally? Do MGMAT test series help? Is it a good idea to but them too? I am planning to give GMAT in June 2013.

Thanks for reading.

GMAT/MBA Expert

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:93 members
GMAT Score:750

by brianlange77 » Wed Jan 30, 2013 6:23 pm