GMAT score vs building a profile

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

GMAT score vs building a profile

by student101 » Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:03 pm
I have a question - I recently wrote the GMAT and did very well - I scored a 780! I also have a pretty strong GPA from a top Canadian undergraduate business program.

I would like to apply to a top U.S. Business School (Harvard, Stanford, Wharton, Columbia), but I don't think I have a very strong profile. I am a Chartered Accountant currently working as an auditor at a Big Four Public Accounting firm (with about 3 years' experience). Though I'm a top performer at my firm, and I do manage teams of people and engagements, I don't think my profile is particularly strong. I have some light leadership activities (I'm part of a group of lead volunteers for a few firm-sponsored community programs).

My question is, for these top schools, to what extent will my GMAT score and experience benefit me, i.e. is it completely necessary to take a year and build a profile, or do I stand any sort of chance at getting in based on such a score?

My concern is that many MBA programs perceive accountants to be pretty mundane number-crunchers, incapable of being leaders. Just wondering if anyone has any feedback or advice for me.

Legendary Member
Followed by:79 members
GMAT Score:640

by money9111 » Wed Jan 02, 2013 4:07 pm
I think you COULD have a very interesting profile, it's just a matter of bringing it out! However, I will say that from your post and the way you talk about yourself, yes, you do sound like a mundane number cruncher. I don't say that to knock you down, but to point out that you're one step further than most people.