What to master to beat the hard SC questions?

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi all,

First, I am a non-native english speaker. I am preparing for the SC correction section and I am finding it tough to be honest. So, I have all my basics covered, went back and looked at grammar textbooks and went through the Foundations of Gmat Verbal by MGMAT. I am also studying from MGMAT Sentence Correction Guide. At this point I've covered all the basic sections, and some of the advanced sections of the guide. I can distinguish now basic errors on S-V Agreement, Parallelism, Comparisons, Pronouns, Verb, Modifiers, -not so much idioms, still learning them-. However, there is something I am missing for the tough questions and I really do not know what that is. What Makes SC questions tough? What do I need to look for besides the basic errors?

For example, Quant 700+ questions mainly have several steps and include several topics in one question. In sentence correction this difference between hard and easy questions is not so identifiable -at least not for me-. It seems like there are very subtle nuances in these questions. What do I need to master or go through to beat the hard SC questions? Everyone praises MGMAT SC Guide. It has been extremely useful but still I can not knock the intermediate /hard questions of SC.

In short, I want to know what is the difference between easy SC and hard SC questions? What do they test? and Ho do they test it differently from the other questions? Do I need to focus less on the typical SV agreement, parallelism, etc, errors and more on the concision, meaning and idioms? if so what can I do to improve on identifying those errors?

Thanks!

Tony

I am aiming to hit Verbal 40-42 + by the way.

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:6 members

by GMAT Kolaveri » Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:41 pm