680 to 710 - I just Beat The GMAT

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:9 members
GMAT Score:710

680 to 710 - I just Beat The GMAT

by benjiboo » Wed Nov 14, 2012 9:02 pm
Hello. I just got back from the test center, and I can proudly say I just Beat the GMAT. 710! I've been waiting since 2009 to write this post. Here is my story and my advice.

I first took the GMAT in Dec 2009. I studied for a little less than 6 months and received a 680. I was upset because I had hit 700+ in many practice test. I self studied for this test using MGMAT book. Part of the reason I was doing well is I had just graduated college and had taken a lot of quant and english courses in my senior year. I ended up meaning to retake the test, but never could get back into the swing of things to study.

Fast forward to June 2012. I decided to start b-school applications and really felt like the 680 score was going to weigh down my application at my top choices. So I decided to try and retake the GMAT. I enrolled in MGMAT classes, and studied, I took the GMAT in Oct. I really struggled on practice test. I got a 640, such a large drop from my initial score. My verbal went down a lot, and my quant went up slightly. I was really bummed out.

I had been using BeatTheGmat.com for a while now. It is the best place to get answer explanations. I really liked Mitch H's aka GMATGURUNY https://www.beatthegmat.com/mba/experts/mitch answers. I contacted him through the forum to set up some tutoring.