GMAT 760 (Q50, V44) and TOEFL 118 (R30 L30 S29 W29) Debrief

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Followed by:6 members
Hey guys,

I took the GMAT 2 months ago but wanted to wait until I finished the TOEFL exam before I share my experiences with you.

My background:
I am 25 years old, male and native of Germany. I've been working as a Software Consultant / Engineer for the last 5 years, 1.5 of which I spent in the USA.

I've always been strong at Maths and Physics but have never done a great job at languages.
Consequently I was extremely anxious about the GMAT.

This is how I prepared over a course of about 4-5 months for this beast:

1. I went through all the MGMAT Strategy Guides to get a general feel for the difficulty level of the exam. Once I was done with a Strategy Guide I randomly picked about 20% of the questions from the Official Guides to find out where my greatest weaknesses were.
2. Now that I was done with the MGMAT books and understood the exam I felt prepared enough to take the first GMAT Prep exam that I scored with 700.
Many in this forum suggest to take this practice exam prior to studying. I disagree because you only have two practice exams that are done by the test creators. Their value is remarkable and I wouldn't want to waste a single one of them without at least basic preparation.