New to gmat and application process.... pls guide me!!

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
HI,,
I am preparing for my gmat and i have my test scheduled for August 2008. I am getting shivers , thinking about the admission, and application process for schools. I have thought of NYU, Columbia, stanford, rutgers to apply to after i get my gmat score. My concern is, How to write essays for schools, the application process etc etc. I am not sure, as how can i market myself for these schools.
I am a woman from hospitality industry, i have studied AOS in baking and pastry from CIA, new york. I have also completed my 3 yrs bachelors from india and along with it i have studied 3 yrs in culinary arts and kitchen administartion from india. I have 2 years toltal work experience inclusive of internships and 1 year job in hotel.
I also belong to a business background, as my mother is a entreprenure and my intrest to pursue MBA is because i want to start my own business after some years and i want to work in R&D for some years before that.
I am little hesitant in in paid admission services offeered by many people around becuase i am not sure as how they can help me and i am not confident in the application process on my own. What should i do?? Should i wait for my Gmat scores first?? and what will be the best solution for a case like mine. Please guide me.
Thanks
sn531770

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:3 members
GMAT Score:750+

by VP_MBA_Guru » Wed Jun 18, 2008 8:56 am
Hi Chef,

Thanks for your post! First of all - DONT PANIC about your TEST!! :)

Seriously, I am sure you will do fine! Most of us hate standardized tests!