Stacy- please evaluate my profile

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Stacy- please evaluate my profile

by dan82 » Mon Jun 05, 2006 9:47 am
Hi Stacy,

I am trying to get into a top 5 school (preferably U of Chicago or Wharton) in order to switch careers and become a securities analyst in the financial services industry (preferably Goldman Sachs, Merrill, etc.).
I have a Bachelor of Science in Aerospace Engineering from Iowa State U, and just completed (part-time) a Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering from Washington University in St. Louis.
Ironically, I was actually turned on to the idea of this career switch while taking two elective courses in finance during my M.S. degree. I have had a strong interest & passion for investing/finance/business that only grew when I took those electives.

I had a GPA of 3.47 in my B.S. and a GPA of 3.50 in my M.S.

So, for the past two years I have been working full-time for The Boeing Company as an Aerospace Engineer (while obtaining the M.S. degree part-time). I came to the company right out of undergrad. Specifically, I work in the advanced research & development branch of the company. Typically at this company engineers don't get a promotion to the next 'level' of engineering until they have 3-4+ years of experience. I know that I have been recommended for promotion by my manager, but due to my minimal experience I think it's somewhat unlikely I will get the promotion in this 'round'.
As for job specifics, I have been in charge of tests and certain analysis for various programs. I have organized, run, and done post-analysis work on a couple of tests here (basically going from 'start-to-finish' with the testing).