48Q 44V--740! No idea how this happened...

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

48Q 44V--740! No idea how this happened...

by anktshah » Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:35 am
This is one of my first posts (and possibly my last). I just got a 740 on the GMAT and left the test center stunned.

A little background on me: I'm about to become a senior at UIUC and made a rash decision to try to get into a MS-Accounting program. So I'd fallen behind on classes and took a bunch of summer classes and so I didn't have that much time to prep for the GMAT. At the same time, I'm a full time student so I'm still very accustomed to the learning process. If I had to put a number on how much I studied I would wager around 100-120 hours.

My practice tests:
GMAT Prep: 640
MGMAT1: 620
MGMAT2: 670
MGMAT3: 680
GMAT Prep 2: 650

Looking at these scores, you're probably wondering how the hell I pulled off a 740. If you find out, let me know. My goal was obviously to break the 700 barrier, but I was so busy with other things that I just didn't have enough time to devote. Two weeks out, I had to start picking and choosing what to study. My verbal was strong, so I ignored that completely and spent any time studying on quant. I was scoring in the 50-70 percentiles for nearly all my practice tests. I went over the first half of the PS and DS problems and also did the last ~30 for each section too. I also spent a lot of time going over the questions I missed during my practice test. I didn't touch the IR section or AWA until the night before.

I obtained copies of MGMAT books, but didn't really use any of them except the number properties book. The reading was, in my opinion, dry, but helpful. I also exploited the forums on this site whenever I needed a concept/question explained. This site is really a great resource!

The test: