Suggestions for me(?) and a word of advice 4 Non-IIT Engg

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:1 members
You may have read many 700 plus stories but this is not about 700 :-(
This is about 640 (Q47, V31) and wasted efforts of 5 months of rigorous study :-(
I (an Indian, non native so verbal is my weakness) have started preparing in March 2012 and started with a GMATPrep1 of 540.
I studied regularly 2 hours in weekdays and 6-8 hours in weekend.
In the last leg of the study (May, June, and July) this study time increased to 4-5 hours in weekdays and 8-10 hours in weekends.

Study Material Used:
Quant:
MGMAT Quant Books
MGMAT Advance Quant Strategy Guide
GMATClub Tests (Now, i know these tests are closet to the real Quant)
MGMAT Tests

Verbal
MGMAT SC/RC/CR guides (4th Edition)
MGMAT Verbal Foundation
Powerscore LR Bible
MGMAT LSAT CR Guide
MGMAT LSAT RC Guide

Following are my Mock Test Results:

GMATPrep 2 (AWA + IR) 710 (06th Aug)
Kaplna 610 (28th July)
GMATPrep 1 (AWA + IR) 710 (22nd July)
MGMAT CAT 2 (AWA + IR) 680 (1st July)
MGMAT CAT 1 (AWA + IR) 680 (24th June)
MGMAT CAT 1 (AWA)690 (21st May)
GMATPrep 2 (AWA) 720 (16th May)
GMATPrep 1 (AWA) 710 (13th May)

I was expecting Q47 and Q48 and it was not a surprise for me.
In Verbal, I was not confident of my Mock Tests scores because in each of these tests i faced many previously attempted Q's. Though i tried to spend appropriate time for the corresponding but didn't deliberately marked them wrong. SO yes, it was inflated. But i was not expecting V31 :-(