Only a prominent leadership role matters in a work exp 2+ ?

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hey Guys/Experts,

I have two questions to ask in this post.

I have 2+ years of work experience at Accenture as a technology consultant/Software Engineer.
I have heard in a lot of webinars and videos that one needs to talk about a leadership role in your work experience.
Well, honestly in just 2 years one shouldn't expect an applicant to do huge turnovers in Clients/company's business in Million dollars or even lead an entire team.
Though i am lucky to have experienced situations where I was offered the role of a lead and i did well solving many defects without a supervisor's help.
My question is, What do b-schools expect from a 2 year work experience ?

Well otherwise, i have an interesting entrepreneurial profile right from college.
I have founded 4 non-profit start-ups and co-founded one.

Again the question here is, Do b-schools look at the success of these start-ups or they see the effort and the idea put behind these?
Out of these 5 only 2 have been succesful and others are just very good experience.

:?

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:4 members

by NextGreatLeader » Tue Aug 07, 2012 12:06 pm
The failed start-ups will make a great topic for the failure essay.

And for leadership, just be sure to highlight the impact you've had in your 2 years. You don't have to have led a company, but have you done anything that has impacted your organization or community? Did you lead a project where you faced opposition and had to overcome it? Those are the kinds of stories to tell.

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:10 members

by myEssayReview » Tue Aug 07, 2012 12:14 pm
Wow, B-schools will be impressed to learn that you have founded 4 non-profit start-ups and co-founded one.