530 Diagnostic to 470 Practise test 1. Pl help!

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Hi All,

I have been preparing for the GMAT since june 2012.My test date is sep 30th.My target score is 650+.

First diagnostic test with zero prep on may 26 gave me the scores of 530 q36 v 26.I finished 3 MGMAT quant books(along with the OG) and ended with the score of 470 q 36 v 18 on my first practise test.(lot of guess work in verbal which brought the score down)I had taken the test to assess my improvement level in quant.My only concern is that my quant score did not improve.I seemed to have forgot everything.My verbal preparation has been close to just 10% as I have covered only CR bible book without doing OG questions.Not started with Sc and RC. I am planning to join a local training centre here at chennai.Planning to restart the entire process again and start with a 3 month prep plan

Here are my queries:

1)Is it better to change my prep plan and postpone the test date to somewhere around november 1st week?The schools that I am targeting have round 1 deadlines well after november 1 so that is not a problem.
2)How to identify specific strong and weak areas .As far as my case is concerned I am weak at almost all topics.Should I be more specific than this in terms of strength and weakness areas.?
3)What should be my study mode.Q an V alternately daily or finish quant first then move to verbal?
I followed the latter strategy for the first two months.By the time I was into the third month I had forgot most things.But the problem with studying Q and V daily is that in the 2 hrs I get I am not able to cover a substantial amount of topic in either.
4)Considering that I reschedule my test date to november 1st week,When should I start my practise test and at what intervals.
5)Should I keep the OG for the last or should I do OG-chapter wise as in MGMAT guides?
6)Should my prep strategy go like this->