Please rate my essay (first time, GMAT in 3 weeks)

This topic has expert replies

Essay grade

No votes
No votes
No votes
No votes
No votes
No votes

Total votes: 0

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi everyone, this is my first time actually posting on the forum (after lurking for quite a while) :)

I'm an international student, and I wrote an essay for the first time (it's the first prompt in the Official Guide, so many of you might be familiar with it ^^) and I have no idea on how I should grade it even though I've seen the sample answers for other questions. I would greatly appreciate if anyone could give me their opinion on how I could improve it. I'm a very fast typer (about 150 WPM) so this is obviously a great advantage but it won't be helpful if I can't improve my reasoning. :/ I feel that it's extremely unorganized and I touched upon a lot of issues without fleshing them out. Also, I ran out of time at the end so I couldn't proofread. :/ If anyone has ANY comments on it, I would be very, very grateful. Thank you!!!

---

The following appeared as part of an annual report sent to stockholders by Olympic Foods, a processor of frozen foods:
"Over time, the costs of processing go down because as organizations learn how to do things better, they become more efficient. In color film processing, for example, the cost of a 3 x 5 inch print fell from 50 cents for five day service in 1970 to 20 cents for one-day service in 1984. The same principle applies to the processing of food. And since Olympic Foods will soon celebrate its 25th birthday, we can expect that our long experience will enable us to minimize costs and thus maximize profits."

The argument that Olympic Foods will be able to minimize its costs, and as a result, earn higher profits, relies on several false assumptions and simplistic logic.