Clueless how I got a 750(Q-50,V-42)!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:2 members

Clueless how I got a 750(Q-50,V-42)!

by Paulrichards » Thu Mar 17, 2011 7:58 am
Hey guys, took the GMAT today and am absolutely ecstatic on getting a 750(Q-50,V-42).
The success is all the more sweet because this was my first attempt and I am relieved that I wouldn't have to pick up the books again. I have almost got fed up of studying.
I joined this forum in August, started my preparation in the week of October with full gusto. It all went pretty good for the initial two weeks when I started losing motivation to study. Finally started the preparation seriously in December first week by booking the GMAT appointment. So in all studied for around 3.5 months.
Here's a brief lowdown of how I studied:

Quant : I didn't have much trouble with Maths. Got the complete set of MGMAT Math strategy Guides .I especially loved MGMAT Number properties book . I had heard great reviews about Veritas Combinatorics and Probability book,so ordered that also which was pretty good. Did the official Guide Maths questions ,but found most of them to be too easy. Only the last 50-60 questions were good. Used tests from miscellaneous sources for practising maths questions.