GMAT Score 610 - Impossible score.. I am shocked!

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi,

My story is that I got a horrible score, which i didnt expect even in the wildest of my dreams. I don't know why i got such a bad score? Last time when I wrote GMAT, I got 660 (M 50, V 29). So I thought I can do much better in verbal. I studied hard for the past 4 months slogging day and night just to make sure that i am thorough in all verbal concepts. I practiced my SC, RC and CR with time limits. I wrote on all prep tests very well. Then on Aug 8th I gave my second attempt. The GMAT test very well, verbal part was especially very satisfying experience this time and therefore i was expecting 700+, but to my utter disbelief, I got 610 in GMAT( M 49, V 25). I am shocked and devastated.

My practice scores of MGMAT after the 1st cat never came below 700 with the maximum of 740. I never got my verbal score below 35 in any of the practice test. Just to make sure, that I was on right path I even wrote Princeton review, veritas, and knewton free mock cats. In all of these tests I got more than 35 in verbal. Even scores in my GMAT preps were 730 and 720. I did og12, OG 11 and OG10. I also did Kaplan verbal work book. I kept an error log and revised it every week diligently. I went through Manhattan GMAT and Beatthegmat forums for all concepts in verbal. I also went through all "Thursdays with RON sessions" taking appropriate notes and re reading them to make sure that I mastered them. But a score of 25 in verbal doesn't justify the tremendous amount of hard work that I had put in. If some body questions my verbal concepts I am confident that I can answer them.

For maths I just prepared 15 days and got 49, but for verbal I prepared for about 4 months and got 25. I had a strategy for every type of question related to CR and RC. For SC, also I had my strategies built in. I am really really shocked. I have no words to speak.