Missing Link in my Application

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Missing Link in my Application

by jakesing » Sat Mar 10, 2012 12:58 pm
Hi All,

I am looking forward to applying to a few schools this coming fall. I'm glad I've made the decision this early, as it gives me an extra 6-8 months or so to try to hone my candidacy and shape my story.

I think I am fairly well prepared, but I fear I may have one glaring weakness, which I'll address below. If anyone has advice or insight, I'd sincerely appreciate it.

I currently work as a trader at a small hedge fund, and I have also worked at KPMG in a valuations and economic consulting group. My long term goal is to work in internal strategy/product management, either for a consumer products company like P&G or Nike, or for a technology company like Google. I think that the most logical step would be to try to work in consulting post-MBA for a couple years in order to prepare myself further for my preferred career.

My concern stems from the fact that I have only done a few minor things to demonstrate my interest in this area. I'd like to do something between now and application date to further explore and demonstrate my interest in consulting or project management, but I'm trying to decide how important/necessary this is. I am currently involved in a nonprofit group that I've co-founded and am organizing an alumni reunion for my study abroad year, both of which involve a fair amount of project organization and other similar tasks. The question is do you think it's important for me to try to gain some specific management-consulting experience (I've reached out to a few small-business consulting organizations here in NYC with few results) in order to validate my expressed interest in the area to adcoms?

Again, any insight and advice is well appreciated.

THANKS!

Legendary Member
Followed by:64 members

by EricAllen » Sun Mar 11, 2012 6:07 am