My 700 & awesome tips to make it happen. You're welcome

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Be warned this is a very long post, and the last one I will make on this site. I detail an inspiring story of my journey with the GMAT as well as empty out my bag of the best tricks I can offer you, learned in my 4 months of studying.

I officially started my GMAT preparation in November of '11. Here is a little background about me I'm a white male 27 years old. I'm originally from Boston but have lived everywhere from Barcelona, to South Beach, to my current residence in Las Vegas Nevada. I have a very friendly and outgoing personality and have held very unconventional jobs such as being a professional online poker player, a personal trainer/model etc.

Since I was not carrying a job at the moment I studied for the GMAT around the clock for a month, I viewed it kind of like a poker game always searching for that advantage, that edge. Poker will be a theme throughout this post because I come from a high-stakes poker background and I brought a lot of those transferable skills to my GMAT preparation. I had the Official Guide, the blue and green books (Math/Verbal Review). On my 1st attempt I strolled into my testing center which was hilariously right on the Strip in Las Vegas and crashed out with a mediocre 590. I was not happy. What does a smart person do after a setback? He/she continues to work hard but also examines their approach/strategy.

Strategy Tips: Sentence Correction