How I beat the GMAT - 720 ( Q 51 V 35 )

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:1 members

How I beat the GMAT - 720 ( Q 51 V 35 )

by kislay » Mon Jan 30, 2012 5:18 am
Hi everyone,

I am going to share my story of beating the GMAT. I scored 720 ( Q 51 V 35) on my second attempt . I got a 660 on my first attempt . I know its not a huge jump, but I am happy to cross the 700 mark. I dedicate my success to three people who believed in me , and kept pushing me even when I did not. Zivana , Shilpa and my mother, Usha, thank you very very much. :)

My Background : I am a Computer Science & Engineering graduate from Manipal University, India. I have been working as a software developer since I passed out ( 2008). And I want to pursue an MBA in Marketing, from the best possible school I cant get into.

The story of my first attempt :- I started the preparation all by my own in late 2010, hoping that I will crack it all by myself. I was wrong about that. So I went to a very good GMAT coach, Sandeep Gupta(Ivy GMAT, Bangalore), and attended a 2 month course which helped me a lot to build the foundation right. I am very grateful to Sandeep for his guidance. But just because I needed a coach, does not imply everyone else needs it, it is more of a personal choice.Coming back to the subject, I chose a day in June 2011, and planned a leave from work as well. I did not give as many practice tests as I should have, and to top that, I could not sleep before the night of the exam. I took the 9am to 1pm slot, and barely got 2-3 hours of sleep. The 660 I did manage to get can be attributed to the positive frame mind I was in, otherwise, it would have been worse for sure. I did not do as well I wanted to . End of story.