Profile Evaluation

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Profile Evaluation

by tommykng » Wed Dec 14, 2011 7:42 pm
Hi Stacy,

Can you please evaluate my profile and let me know if my target schools are reasonable and what I will need to improve my application?

Undergrad
3.0 GPA, Computer Information Systems major at Cal Poly Pomona.

GMAT
650 GMAT (44 Q, 35 V, 4.5 AWA)

Demographic
32/Asian/Male

Work Experience:
I have 8 years of work experience as an experienced information technology (IT) risk assurance and advisory professional (reviewing an organization's IT risk and controls). I've been an IT auditor at a multinational insurance company coming out of college for a year and a half. Worked in a Big 4 accounting firm (EY) for 4.5 years (also in the IT risk advisory and assurance field) and working in a variety of Fortune 500 companies and industries. During this time, I've also worked on international projects in UK, Hong Kong, and Japan. I am currently working in a non-profit healthcare organization specializing in cancer treatment and research as the sole IT audit professional, bringing leading practices and expertise to mitigate IT risks to the organization.

Schools
Would like to stay in the Southern California...USC Marshall, UCLA Anderson, UCI Paul Merage

Why MBA
Looking to enhance my business knowledge to further my professional career from the "IT risk" field to operations, either within an organization or consulting.

Other information
I don't really have extracurricular volunteer activities. Is this a concern? I am a member and do participate in my industry professional organization meetings.

If you have any other recommendations, please feel free to let me know. Thank you, Stacy.

-Tommy

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:148 members

by Lisa Anderson » Fri Dec 16, 2011 2:19 pm
Dear Tommy,