Two Weeks Out - Advice?

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Two Weeks Out - Advice?

by MaleInNC2007 » Sun Jan 14, 2007 7:55 pm
I am two weeks away from the GMAT. I am a law student (with an MBA) and I will apply to PhD programs (once I know what my test score is).

I scored 610 the first time (back in 2003) but I didn’t study as much in 2003.

I have gone through a ton of books. I wished I started with the Official Guides and found this site earlier.

One problem I have now is that I have already done all of the problems in the OG's. Consequently, I feel my scores on the official computerized tests are a little inflated because there is some overlap with the books. I assume I have to predict my scores off of my initial 'scores' on the OG's. My scores have been consistent throughout all of the books. Here is the general break-down on percentage of question I have answered correctly:

Problem solving: 90%
Data sufficiency: 84%

Reading comprehension: 91%
Critical reasoning: 92%
Sentence correction: 72%

My scores on the computerized tests range from 680 to 740 but I feel this is inflated because I reviewed the OG's first. I also notice a ton of similar patterns etc.

Numerous people on this board recommended the Manhattan GMAT Sentence Correction book so I purchased the book. Hopefully this will increase my SC score.

I guess my question is what should I expect for a score on the real test based upon my results? I am shooting for low-tier PhD programs. One has an average GMAT score of 610 (believe it or not). I hope to god I can crack 700. I will be satisfied with a 680. My undergraduate & MBA GPA is 4.0. I am hoping a decent GMAT score and the rest will get me in a decent PhD program.

From here on out my plan is to review the problems I have answered incorrectly and to work on sentence correction problems.

Wish me luck.
Last edited by MaleInNC2007 on Mon Feb 26, 2007 8:06 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi,