My 4 month journey from 540 to 740...grit over ability!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:1 members
It's been a hell of a ride. Let me tell you a little bit about myself. I was a very underwhelming student my whole life. I was particularly dismal at math. I don't think my ability for it is well below average, but it required more studying for me to be successful whereas in most other subjects I could do absolutely no work and get C's. That's not a boast-I'm not one those people who gets all A's without studying. There isn't a day that goes by without me rueing my past academic history. By sheer luck, after graduating from an average school, I managed to land a job in credit risk management for Bank of America cards. In the following years I also worked at HSBC and now work as a Senior Risk Analyst for JPMorgan Chase cards.

In May of this year I decided to pull my stuff together and try for an MBA. Obviously to offset my low GPA (B-), I realised I needed to score a minimum of 700 for admittance into a good school. In May I purchased some Manhattan study guides, and spent a couple hours a day reading them. I didn't attempt any tests, it was more of a casual reading to brush up on the absolute basics. In June, I enrolled in MGMAT for their course. After a few weeks, on June 19th I sat my first practice test. I scored a 540. I was quite disappointed in myself because I felt that I was some way off my goal. My quant was a dismal 29, my verbal was 36. I continued to study 2 hours a day, 6 days a week. I was attending all manhattan classes and doing all the assigned work. I could feel myself getting better, but it's hard to gauge by how much.