4th attempt 670, retake ???

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

4th attempt 670, retake ???

by karthikyethu » Tue Nov 08, 2011 7:56 am
Hello everyone,

I gave my gmat for the fourth time today and got 670 Q45 V37, my previous scores are:

1st attempt: 630 Q49 V27 Sept last year
2nd attempt: 580 Q41 V28 Nov last year
3rd attempt: 620 Q47 V28 Jan this year.

I was expecting a score of 700 today, as I thought i performed well in both the sections.
I have no idea where I lost in the quant section. My best scores so far Q49 and V37 can get me
700+. Now I am unable to decide whether to give it one more shot ie my 5th attempt. Is it worth it?

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:3 members

by immaculatesahai » Tue Nov 08, 2011 8:28 am
Hi Karthik,

I am no expert on this, but I feel you should move on and begin your application process and start applying to colleges. With a 670, you have a pretty good chance at many colleges (although I do agree that its going to be difficult getting in top 5 or top 10). There are several top colleges such as IE and IMD that are really good and dont have a very high gmat score average/median.

Obviously I dont know much about your background so can not suggest any college. If you still feel you would like to improve your score further than go ahead. Do some introspection before deciding.

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:3 members

by GmatVerbal » Tue Nov 08, 2011 9:04 am
Hi Karthik,