very low scores on the practice, need some advice

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hello all,

I have been studying for Gmat for 4 months and also took a course from kaplan. I have taken a kaplan gmat prep and scored 350, 570, 440, and 520 respectively. I consistently score around 50 pencentile on the quant. For the verbal side, i score 1, 36, and 16 percentile respectively. I have a lot of trouble with the verbal side of the exam because i am non native speaker. I have been devoting my time on the verbal but i feel like it's not improving much or as much as i would like to see progress. I'm currently using kaplan premier and og 12 to study. My most weakness is SC, followed by comprehension Reading, then crital reasoning. I have not taken the gmat prep on the cd yet. I actually planned to take my test on oct 29 and i postponed my exam to Nov 17. I just rescheduled my exam to Dec 29 again because i feel like i'm never ready enough to take the exam. So i only have less than two months to study from now. I dont know if it's enough? I fear to not achieve the score i am looking for. I also constantly run out of time at the end and having to guess randomly around 10 questions on both verbal and quant (kaplan prep). My target score is between 650. I really would like some advice of how i can improve my score and perhaps some study plan that would be appropiate for weakness. I also would like to know how many question should i attempt to do per day. I have read up where people state their hours of study but i am a slow reader, i usually take longer time to study than most people. Thank you! Any comment or advice would be appreciated

by krbits » Mon Nov 07, 2011 5:29 pm
For SC, follow Ron's advise. Take each SC question type " say subject-verb agreement,parallelism etc.," and practice as many questions as you can.