The Effectiveness of Practicing with CATs

This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:9 members
GMAT Score:750

The Effectiveness of Practicing with CATs

by sunman » Mon Oct 10, 2011 7:23 am
Hi, my name is Sonny, I'm a Marine Officer and a 2009 alumnus of the University of Illinois. I've been trolling this forum and receiving the emails for a while now, and a common theme I've noticed was that "just take one of two CATs, especially ones from GMATPrep to see where you're at, but don't bother taking CATs over and over again".

Here I would like to respectfully beg to differ. I've taken approximately 8-10 CATs now, and each time after I take one, I would go back and review the questions I struggled with and read the explanation until I understand what I did wrong.

It's trial and error, and sheer determination. It's like running the Iso over and over again for 4 yards at a time, you're eventually bound to reach the endzone.

The first timed CAT I ever took was the one that came with Peterson's GMAT book. I scored a 610, which was very demoralizing to me. However, I went online and did some research, and the consensus seems to be that the scoring algorithm and the accuracy of the question type may be of dubious quality in Petersons' product, so I switched over to doing the Manhattan GMAT CATs.

I haven't taken the real GMAT yet, because I want this to be a 1 shot, 1 kill deal. I don't have an endless supply of $250 to pour down the drain, but the following are my results in chronological order:

Petersons': 610 (sorry, can't find my scores)
MGMAT1: 43Q 35V, 640
MGMAT2: 43Q 36V, 650
MGMAT3: 48Q 34V, 680
GMATPrep: 680 (forgot the Q and V subscores, it's on my government computer at work)
MGMAT4: 45Q 39V, 690
MGMAT5: 47Q 35V, 680
MGMAT6: 45Q 41V, 710 (finally broke the 700 barrier)

And the coup de grace:

GMATPrep2: 48Q 42V, 730